What special thing can you do for your partner this holiday? 😉

mom bonding 4.jpg

Life gets so busy and sometimes we don't remember to appreciate the ones who have been there for us. This Christmas, do something to appreciate your partner. First you need to know his love language. In the RLC, Ekene taught the 5 languages with reference to Garry Chapman.

For you to understand better, we will give you a summary. There are 5 love languages and unless you understand and know a person's love language, your gifts may not really be appreciated. Many times people give gifts based on their own love language which may not be their partners language. The love languages are

1. Words of affirmation

This language uses words to affirm other people. For those who fall here, hearing “I love you” and other compliments are what they value the most. Is this your partner's language? If so paying them compliments regularly, saying affirming words “I’m proud of you” may just be the best thing ever. For people in this category, words are their currency and talk is not cheap. So if you say negative and destructive things, it cuts them very deep too. This holiday leave words of affirmation at odd places, in the bathroom, in his car, his pockets.

2. Quality time

This language is all about giving the other person your undivided attention.Being a loved one’s main focus leaves them feeling very satisfied and comforted. They want to spend time with you. If this is his language, this holiday make an effort to set a day apart specially for him, take him to a nice location where it can just be both of you. It can be as simple as being indoors and spending time together or taking a room in an affordable hotel. You could have dinner just the two of you or even play games in the comfort of your home. Distractions, postponed dates, or the failure to listen can be especially painful to them.

3. Receiving gifts

For some people, receiving a gift makes them feel very loved.This doesn’t necessarily mean the person is materialistic, but a meaningful or thoughtful present makes them feel very appreciated. It doesn't have to be expensive but the simple fact that you got them a gift lights up their world. If this is your partner's language, then get him something you know he needs, he will hold onto it for a very long time.

4. Acts of service

For these people, actions speak louder than words. People who speak the language of service want you to lend a hand, this shows you really care. If this is his language, helping with his laundry or picking his clothes off the ground or doing an errand for him, is the biggest thing ever. Look closely, if he always wants to do something for you to make your day easier and better for example, cook dinner, help you with something, or just wanting to lend a hand always, this could be is language. Most times we relate with people based on our own language.

5. Physical touch

To this person, nothing speaks more deeply than appropriate touch. That doesn’t mean only in the bedroom - everyday physical connections, like hand-holding, kissing, or any type of re-affirming physical contact is greatly appreciated. This person loves to get hugs, random pecks out of nowhere.

Now you know the love languages, it is also important to note this: that a person has a particular language doesn't necessarily mean they would not appreciate the other languages. They will, everyone loves a gift every now and then, so this is a guide to what his top most language is.